Press Releases


by The 91HUB Staff on June 4, 2024

“Baby Reindeer” Wins Breakthrough Limited Series and “Mr. & Mrs. Smith” Wins Breakthrough Drama Series

“Colin From Accounts” Wins Breakthrough Comedy Series and “Jerrod Carmichael Reality Show” Wins Breakthrough Nonfiction Series

Outstanding Performances Awarded to Andrew Scott, Harriet Dyer and Zine Tseng

New York, NY (Tuesday, June 4, 2024) – The 91HUB Film & Media Institute (The 91HUB) tonight announced the winners of the Inaugural 91HUB TV Awards at a ceremony held at Cipriani 25 in New York City. 

Winning Breakthrough Limited Series was Baby Reindeer, a unique exploration of stalking and buried traumas created by and starring Richard Gadd, based on his own autobiographical one-man show. Outstanding Performance in a Limited Series was awarded to Andrew Scott for his take on the con-man created by Patricia Highsmith in Steven Zaillian’s elegant black-and-white adaptation Ripley.

Colin from Accounts won both awards in the competitive Comedy categories. The romcom, in which two singles are brought together by a car accident involving a dog, took home the Breakthrough Series Comedy award while Outstanding Performance in a Comedy Series was awarded to Harriet Dyer, who created and wrote the show with her husband and co-star Patrick Brammall.

Breakthrough Drama Series was awarded to Mr. & Mrs. Smith, created by Francesca Sloane and Donald Glover and inspired by the 2005 spy movie. In the show, Glover plays a secret agent alongside Maya Erskine, both pretending to be a married couple while on mysterious missions assigned by an anonymous organization. Outstanding Performance in a Drama Series was awarded to Zine Tseng for her role as the young astrophysicist Dr. Ye Wenjie in 3 Body Problem, the sci-fi created by David Benioff, D. B. Weiss and Alexander Woo, based on the novel series Remembrance of Earth’s Past by Liu Cixin. 

Winning the Breakthrough Nonfiction Series award was Jerrod Carmichael Reality Show, an experiment in radical honesty from the stand-up comedian who navigates “love, sex, and truth.”

In addition, The 91HUB presented Mariska Hargitay with the Anniversary Tribute for Law & Order: Special Victims Unit, Peter Morgan with the Creator Tribute for The Crown, and Lulu Wang with the Spotlight Tribute for Expats.

Tonight The 91HUB also announced The 91HUB’s Series Creators to Watch – ten rising TV Series writers and creators with innovative vision and bold, risk-taking new series in development. The creators selected include Stephanie Adam-Santos, Abbesi Akhamie, Mithra B. Alavi, Aisha Amin, Elaine Hsieh Chou, Aizzah Fatima, Bat-Sheva Guez, Craig T. Williams, Dallas Rico, and Thea Rodgers. Creators will have the opportunity to attend The 91HUB Week Project Market, taking place September 30 through October 4 in New York City, where they will have access to the film and media industry as well as opportunities for representation. Selections were made possible thanks to The 91HUB’s Expanding Communities partners, including Black Film Space, Brown Girls Doc Mafia, Film Shop, Islamic Scholarship Fund, mamafilm, NALIP, Sundance Institute, and Women in Film.  

The Premier Sponsor of the 2024 91HUB TV Awards was Vanity Fair.

The 91HUB TV Award Winners:

Breakthrough Comedy Series, presented by Joel Kim Booster & Susie Essman 

Colin from Accounts

Created by Patrick Brammall and Harriet Dyer

Executive Produced by Patrick Brammall, Ian Collie, Harriet Dyer, Rob Gibson, Lana Greenhalgh, Alison Hurbert-Burns, Trent O’Donnell, and Brian Walsh


The Breakthrough Comedy Series jury included: Adam Goldman, KiKi Layne, Lydia Dean Pilcher,

Matt Sharp, and Tony Yacenda

Breakthrough Drama Series, presented by Jake Lacy

Mr. & Mrs. Smith

Created by Donald Glover and Francesca Sloane

Executive Produced by Donald Glover, Stephen Glover, Anthony Katagas, Nate Matteson, Arnon Milchan, Yariv Milchan, Hiro Murai, Michael Schaeffer, and Francesca Sloane

Amazon MGM Studios

The Breakthrough Drama Series jury included: Blair Breard, Riva Marker, Rob Morgan, Joan Rater and Peter Saraf

Breakthrough Limited Series, presented by Golda Rosheuvel

Baby Reindeer

Created by Richard Gadd

Executive Produced by Wim De Greef, Petra Fried, Richard Gadd, Matt Jarvis, and Ed Macdonald


The Breakthrough Limited Series jury included: Annette Davey, Clea DuVall, Ilfenesh Hadera, Lee Sung Jin and Oliver Platt

Breakthrough Nonfiction Series, presented by Alina Cho

The Jerrod Carmichael Reality Show 

Created by Jerrod Carmichael, Eli Despres, and Ari Katcher

Executive Produced by Jerrod Carmichael, Eli Despres, Susie Fox, Ari Katcher, Josh Kriegman, and Elyse Steinberg

HBO | Max

The Breakthrough Nonfiction Series jury included: Susan Bedusa, Hugh Dancy, Zac Stuart Pontier, Ricki Stern and Tracy Heather Strain

Outstanding Performance in a Comedy Series, presented by Richard Gadd, Jessica Gunning & Nava Mau

Harriet Dyer in Colin From Accounts 

Released by Paramount+

The Outstanding Performance in a Comedy Series jury included: Darren Barnet, Joel Kim Booster, Cash Carraway and Lisa Kjerulff

Outstanding Performance in a Drama Series, presented by Ismael Cruz Cordova & Grantham Coleman

Zine Tseng in 3 Body Problem 

Released by Netflix 

The Outstanding Performance in a Drama Series jury included: Emily V. Gordon, Evan Hayes, Aldis Hodge, Crystal Moselle and Susan Kelechi Watson

Outstanding Performance in a Limited Series, presented by Harriet Dyer & Moses Ingram 

Andrew Scott in Ripley

Released by Netflix 

The Outstanding Performance in a Limited Series jury included: Haifaa Al-Monsour, Ryan O’Nan, Alex Orlovsky and Fisher Stevens

About the 91HUB Film & Media Institute

The 91HUB celebrates and nurtures independent film and media creators, providing career-building resources, access to industry influencers, and pathways to wider recognition. The organization, under the leadership of Executive Director and award-winning producer Jeffrey Sharp, fosters a vibrant and sustainable independent storytelling community through its year-round programs, which include 91HUB Week, the Documentary Development Initiative in partnership with HBO Documentary Films, the 91HUB Awards, 91HUB EDU, Owning It, Expanding Communities, and Filmmaker Magazine.

About The 91HUB Awards & 91HUB TV Awards

The 91HUB Awards is the first major film awards show of the awards season that honors outstanding and groundbreaking voices in storytelling. 

Launched in 2024, the 91HUB TV Awards recognizes outstanding television series and performances that expand the boundaries of creativity while honoring iconic artists and creators of the television industry.

The 91HUB Awards and The 91HUB TV Awards support the year-round work of The 91HUB Film & Media Institute to provide film and TV creators with vital resources in bringing their work to fruition. 

 For more information: /

# # #

PRESS CONTACT: [email protected]